living after the death of a baby, living with Autism, living as a family of six, living on our organic homestead, living miserably, hopefully, and with joy, and somedays just living

In a couple of days

In a couple of days I’m going to sift through all the mud in my head and write a really cathartic post about what’s going on around here.  That isn’t meant to be some sort of cliff hanger remark, I really can’t even begin with out giving you most of the details, at least not the important ones anyway, and I need some time to be pensive over what has actually transpired to decide what the important bits even are.

I can tell you we needed to have blood drawn from Elijah to get a few things on the go (things we should have done before now).  I don’t know if I’ve ever experienced Elijah nervous and afraid before.  I’m sure everyone in the waiting room with me will never forget (Kyle went in with him).  We’ve never had Elijah poked before other than the unfortunate vaccinations we did when he was a baby.  Oh my! He screamed and yelled ‘It hurts’ so often, so heartfeltly, and so loudly that I nearly broke.  As a parent there are going to be times that you are going to have to put your kid in a situation that you will want more than anything to protect him from.  Don’t get me wrong I don’t feel that having blood drawn put him in serious peril, but as a parent I would like to never have to force my kid to do something he feels so strongly against .  The only way to know some of the answers we need to move forward was blood.  So it’s done, it was horrible.

And all in all he did great, he was a star, an infinite amount of time trying to get him calm, a few minute to forget that idea and just have Kyle restrain him before the stress killed a 5 year old boy, and two minutes, or so, to collect the vials, and when it was all done he calmed down quickly enough.  After went off to Walmart for the reward.  Yes, I know how some of you feel about the R word, but we use it.  Expecting some great big toy to be placed in the cart, after looking at transformers, race tracks, Wii accessories, board games, Lego, in the end he picked a Hot Wheels car.  Well then, pleased with our good fortune at a $2.00 prize, we suggested he get two, so he got a new Lightning McQueen too.

Autism has me beat these days maybe I need a good reward.  I wonder what I would pick?

Comments on: "In a couple of days" (3)

  1. It sounds like it was quite an ordeal for everyone. I still remember Nick getting his booster shots at 5 years and the nurses had to hold him down for me because I was hugely pregnant and he was thrashing too much to be in my lap. It’s hard to feel like you’re doing the right thing in the big picture when you’re making your kid so miserable in the moment.

    So funny that he picked out a little car! I guess he knows what makes him happy. 🙂 Huge hugs to all of you guys!

  2. Sometimes, you just have to hold them down until the crappy part is over. I’m sorry to hear it was so trying, and I’m glad to hear it’s over.

    You guys are an inspiration, even (maybe especially) on your rough days.

  3. Oh I know that feeling. When we went for Brady’s last endoscopy he knew why we were there. He kept crying the most pitiful cry and grabbing our bag wanting to leave. I felt so terrible but I knew we had to have the scope done. It’s so hard hurting them to help them.

Leave a Reply

