living after the death of a baby, living with Autism, living as a family of six, living on our organic homestead, living miserably, hopefully, and with joy, and somedays just living

DSC_0359

The last few days have been garden intensive.  Friday I dug up potatoes, and cut and processed swiss chard to freeze.   Saturday I dug up potatoes, pulled up onions, and weeded.  Today (Sunday) I braided onions for storage, collected the potatoes that were drying in the dirt, gathered the Zucchini and Summer squash that were getting big ( there’s always one under a leaf that has been secretly growing and is bigger that you’d like), picked and shelled peas, and did some trimming, weeding, and vine propping. Each day we feed and water the pigs and chickens and collect eggs.   What you see above was just today’s work.

 

Downstairs I have a 130lbs of Purple, Fingerling, Russet and Yukon Gold Potatoes combined, I have 5 bags of swiss chard in the freezer with more to come, 21 jars of peaches, 7 jars of various pickles, 3 bags of radishes, two dinners worth of peas (so far), three onion braids and a zip lock full of peeled onions and a lot of zucchini.  I love stockpiling my home grown wares but…

 

I cant wait for next year.  This year I planted most things way too late, so some things never made it, cucumbers and carrots ( though there’s still hope that there will be enough time to get small carrots at least).  Some things like my cabbage taught me that it needs to be covered by gardeners fleece if you want to get even a cabbage, because it’s ravaged by caterpillars, the lettuce was feild planted, and the grass hoppers and chickens got it, it goes in a box next year, other things succumb to the weather.  The corn and beans never germinated due to the cold spring, and my tomatoes got blight due to all our rain.  The beets never made it into the ground and neither did the spinach. 

 

I also planted all the squash all mixed up all together in the pumpkin patch deciding that it didn’t matter. I would know a butternut from a jack-o-lantern, but what i didn’t count on was wondering if that round squash is an eight ball (green when ripe) or a sugar pumpkin (orange when ripe).  And since the squash went in late were still hoping there’s enough frost free days to get some of those lovely overwintering veggies in the cellar.

 

Now that I know what I’m doing, I think, next years garden will be better planned and way more bountiful.  I can’t wait!  Ohh and my apple and plum tree should actually give me a yeild (this year I’ll get about 4-6 fruits from each tree).  I’m all a quiver all ready.

Comments on: "Home(stead), Sweet, Home(stead)" (2)

  1. Looks awesome! There’s something so very pleasing about a pile of fresh veggies. Yummy!!

  2. What a nice harvest. It always takes time to figure out what grows well in your soil, what companion plants to grow and what tactics to use for bugs and pests. I remember my mom putting diazinon in the holes with the cabbage and cauliflower and now that I am older I wouldn’t do that. Sure she didn’t get bugs, but gee, that stuff is terrible.

    All in all you got a lot of nice food for winter!

Leave a Reply

