living after the death of a baby, living with Autism, living as a family of six, living on our organic homestead, living miserably, hopefully, and with joy, and somedays just living

Why I do it

I’m a part of this blogging challenge 30 days – 30 posts.  I do it because it gets me blogging.  I say things, write things rather, that I want to say, things that weigh on my heart, or things that are happening that I feel are worth sharing because they fill in the bigger picture of who I am, not just what I do.  I like doing it because it forces me to write.  The problem is that I feel forced to write some nights that I’d rather not, but I feel like I should, and so I end up writing something very so/so.  I didn’t really want any so/so writing to take up space here, I wanted it all to be deep and have some sort of grand meaning, a purging of my soul.  I didn’t want posts that were merely regurgitations of my day.  Do you care what kind of breakfast cereal I ate?  I hate blogs that go on and on about nothing, I don’t read them, I don’t get them.  Peaches was a good blog, I Can Can was not.

I just re-read my very first post The Far Away Girl I wish more of my posts were like it.  Not the sadness, I’m glad to be over that, but it is ripe with introspection.    I started this blog as a way of reaching out to my friends and to give myself an outlet, someplace I got to just pour out my thoughts.  That’s why I do it.  I don’t blog for readership, I have search engines blocked and I don’t promote my blog as a “hey I have a blog, come read my awesome blog, and find out how great I am” or even “Hey I have a blog, come read it”, I use a ready made template that hundreds of others use and I’m not even sure how to use most of the features on WordPress.  I do sometimes upload my blog to facebook if I feel I have something meaningful to share, but I have my privacy settings restricted to only friends, so I’m always very intrigued when strangers comment on my posts.  I don’t have my blog as private, but I don’t think of more than a handful of people, who know me well, as ever reading my blog.  Where do people find me?  Not that I mind (I mean I could always set my privacy setting, so they couldn’t see me if I did).  I’m often touched by people I don’t even know’s comments.  I’m not sure why others who don’t know me would find me interesting at all.

I guess always blogging about something deep and profound is unrealistic.  I would like this blog to be a collection of my life’s ah ha moments, a work of sharing introspection, perhaps a sharing of feelings with others who totally get what I was writing about in any given post.  Perhaps I write as a way of giving you a bit of me, I have to think on that a while, in order to explain that.

The title of my blog reads

From The Inside Looking In

living after the death of a baby, living with Autism, living as a family of six, living miserably, hopefully, and with joy, and somedays just living

so ideally it’s about deep introspection and about the big events in my life and how I live through them, but some days it will be about just living, so that will have to do, not for you, but for me, and some days I can peaches and there’s no greater meaning to it.

Comments on: "Why I do it" (4)

  1. I love your posts, no matter how deep or matter of fact they are because I feel more involved in your life and like you’re not so far away. I think it’s like conversations with friends, where the good deep conversations are really so amazing but even the light chit chat leaves me feeling good.

  2. If everything was deep and introspective, I’d suffer a brain aneurysm.

    Anyway, you blog about what’s relevant to you at that moment…and I guess I’ve always figured that’s what it’s supposed to be about. Don’t worry about content and whether it’s ‘important’ enough or if your readers care about it. It’s important enough for you to write about…that’s all that matters.

  3. […] deeply identified with Erron's "Why I do it".  Like her I want my website to be an amazing collection of nothing but top quality […]

  4. […] in which she talks about her struggles amazes me. She has a message to each of her posts. In fact, one, very well written post outlined, in a much more elegant fashion, what I’m trying to say above. So many things she writes […]

Leave a Reply

