living after the death of a baby, living with Autism, living as a family of six, living on our organic homestead, living miserably, hopefully, and with joy, and somedays just living

Finding my Passion

I’m a little of most things, and hardly all about one.

I’m a co sleeping, baby wearing, breast feeding ,natural birthing mama, but like Janine said “If people like that were an army Kim would be a general.”

I’ve been about eating clean, organic, less processed foods for some time, but I don’t have the fire that James has.  I am honored that he wrote such a nice piece about me, and I’m delighted that I inspired him in any way I may have. Though  I am certainly no hero.

Shaun is about the power of positive thinking and motivation.

Chad WOW

Tammy Simple Contentment

Cliff Gaming and Editoring

Liam authoring

Brad getting his wife and him as far away as possible from his vicious MIL.  (seriously dude you’ve got terrible in-laws)

Janine DIY and the weekend.

Kyle science, farming, and inventive projects that require some fancy tinkering.

But me?

I tried to help move the midwifery movement here in Saskatoon but I feel that even those fighting here are paying some form of lip service.

Autism services where I felt I should dedicate my time has little for me to do.  I’m not in a position to dump heaps of cash on them, but I’d love to find some volunteer option that would make a difference. My friend Angela is an Autism hero/warrior she knows more about it than I can ever hope to learn, and she is the most amazing Auti mom.  She’s fought with every weapon she could find and payed for it it from her own pocket at the expense a lifetime of credit card payments.

When Kate died I wanted to work as a grief counselor, or as a funeral director.  The first because I received, so much support from Parentcare, HEARTS, and Angel Whispers in Edmonton and the second because I had such a terrible funeral director.  I wanted to be in a place that was far enough from my grief that I could actually be a support and not need to be supported, and then I was moving and then moving again.

So I’m curious to know who am I too you. What peg do I fit in in your life?  Not that any of us are easily slotted into one characteristic?

Comments on: "Finding my Passion" (2)

  1. To me, you are the lady with the giant heart who knows so much about such a wide variety of topics. I totally look up to you as being a wealth of knowledge and I don’t know that there’s anything I’ve ever asked you about that you can’t help me to learn more about. I see you as the mother who works tirelessly to bring into her children’s lives all the possibilities she sees and I really don’t know how you accomplish all the things that you do.

  2. I am new to the rat pack so I know less than everyone else about you, but you seem to be a good friend and role model to a lot of people. I see someone who wants to have a big wonderful family and be the best mom she can be. This means creating a caring nurturing environment for her kids and husband. It sounds like you have many interests that include, gardening, knitting, cooking. There are likely causes that you have taken an interest in because of the cards you were dealt. Since my sister has had lymphoma a couple of times, I am now much more interested in learning about cancers and possible prevention.

    I can imagine that taking care of a family, an acreage, garden and animals is very time consuming and it is great that many of you have been able to obtain and enhance your friendships over the years and through different stages of life. That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

