living after the death of a baby, living with Autism, living as a family of six, living on our organic homestead, living miserably, hopefully, and with joy, and somedays just living

Happiness is..

Picture two little naked cartoon people at my farm.  SO the moving sucked, it really is a big job for a family of five to move all of their stuff, especially when three of them can’t really do any good helping, but are marvelous at getting in the way,  and the other grown up is pregnant, and can’t lift anything heavier than a toddler.  Add to that two days of rain and it pretty much blows goats.  But It’s all done, just little bits, and some organizing to do.  Really we shouldn’t be this happy.  We need to replace our boiler (read 8k plus), the crap roads during the move destroyed the van tires and we needed new ones, there’s a leak in the roof and the repair man is slipperier than an eel to track down, we need to pay for a fence and a deep freeze, but MAN are we happy!!

It really is heaven here.  You wake up and it’s quiet, so quiet.  When I look out my window I see my yard, not my neighbors siding.  The kids run around the mowed paths with the kind of joy that you can’t help but smile at.  There’s a 60+ year old apple tree at the back with perfectly spaced branches for climbing, and going 5 km behind the tractor has the kids giddy.  The air is clean, and the house is beautiful.  Seems that I couldn’t have asked for anything more.  The house is big and the upstairs attic loft keeps the kids so busy playing, that it along with all our outdoor exploring, has meant that some days the TV doesn’t get turned on.  Kyle and I’s happiness has made us better parents, more easy going, and so we have better kids, they have been so good lately playing together and behaving.

There are of course some down sides, we have quite a few gravel trucks pass by during the day, not so many that you notice the traffic, but do they ever stir up dust.  Our TV room needs to be dusted daily.  Every morning I must pick up 10 or so moths that have found there way in and flush em, along with tossing Sally any indoor crickets I find.  Okay so I live in the country, I best get used to the bugs right?  Here’s the thing.  The two things in this world I’m afraid of are tornadoes, don’t even kid about ’em, and grasshoppers.  The tornado fear I think is a rational fear,  the grasshoppers even I know better.  What are they gonna do eat me?  But somewhere deep in my brain I can’t shake it, even though I know better.  There  must be a million, no two million, of them out here.  The path to the Quonset must be the worst, it’s like the red sea parting as you walk along (typing this I can feel my face contorting in disgust) they hop to each side and in front of you.  The other day I was taking the girls in the wagon when one jumped on Petch, she started screaming, and honestly I wanted to scream more than anything, I told her it was okay, and that they don’t bite or hurt you, and she was fine with it, I on the other hand still wanted to scream,  and I had to brush the darn critter off of her.

If you’re coming to our campout, I can’t wait to share it all with you!  If you can’t make it I look forward to the chance to share it with you later.  When things are this good you just want to spread it around.

Comments on: "Happiness is.." (3)

  1. It sounds like heaven Erron. I’m so happy for you guys!
    Who’s Sally? Did you guys get a pet?

    • Sally is our lizard. Did you see her in St.Albert? We brought her from Chi. Hey are you coming this week end, or just not up to it?

  2. We are so. excited.
    I think everyone is. This is going to be the most awesomest weekend *ever*

    But aside from that, I’m so glad to hear that you’re settling in nicely and enjoy your new acreage. I saw a picture on facebook of you on a tractor with your children on it and playing aroudn it. you guys looked so amazingly cute.

    Happy Saskatchewaning!

Leave a Reply

