living after the death of a baby, living with Autism, living as a family of six, living on our organic homestead, living miserably, hopefully, and with joy, and somedays just living

Is it mitochondrial?

I ask myself this all the time as well, as are we ever going to find Elijah’s cure?  I got this today from a friend, I don’t expect you to read it all, but skimming it will help you follow this post if your so inclined.

The Fatty Acid Question

Fatty Acids, man, I think about them all the time.  Is he getting enough, is it a help?  How much does he need, is there some thing else that we need to turn the key, not just fit it in the lock.

Elijah is thin and Very tall, in the 95th percentile, skinny kid.  He could essentially become a raw food vegan, and be very happy.  His diet consists mostly of apples, bananas, carrots, tomatoes, broccoli, and other fruits and vegetables.  He’ll eat vegetables cooked, but really there’s no use in pushing cooked veggies when raw ones have more nutrients. etting him to eat pasta has become impossible, so we eat a lot of rice, and he likes that.  Meat however has become another thing we won’t put past his teeth. Sigh.

So rice and veggies.  Diet food.  I worry that Elij isn’t getting enough amino acids, saturated and unsaturated fats.  I worry that his brain suffers from not enough fatty building blocks.  The kinds that make neurons healthy.  Now I worry that that might not be enough I have to jail break long fatty acid chains, and work at mitochondrial repair.  But I don’t understand it all and I’m not sure what I should be doing to make it better (will it make it better?  I have to try) some nights I think of feeding him flax seed suet to see if that will help. At least you can’t avoid the fat in that meal.  Don’t email me I know suet isn’t for consumption. We do supplement with dha, omega 3 and 6, and vit E.

All of this leads back to “What is the answer?” Why can some parents find it, and others have to search.  Are there different types of Autism? Metabolic, mitochondrial, and both?  Is there more types we haven’t even touched on?  If one type of therapy helps one type, but hurts another, and I try the wrong one, am I working in reverse? Am I making him worse?

Lately with our lack of therapy Elijah’s autistic traits seem to be more pronounced, he gone back to screeching, he must make sound effects for everything he does, and he’s using repetitive phrases. Next week we’re in for his evaluation at the therapy office hopefully that means we start actual sessions the next week. The waiting here is terrible and we’re looking at having to pay out of pocket until sk healthcare picks up the tab a year and a half from now.  Tuns out we’ll shell out more clams in Canada for therapy then we ever had to in the US. I’m so disappointed in the system, in not being able to provide him what he needs, partly because I don’t know what all the needs are yet.

SO whats the answer, what’s Elijah’s answer.  I hope we can find it

Leave a Reply

